Diocese of Tyler

Directory

Physical and Mailing Address: 1015 ESE Loop 323, Tyler, Texas 75701-9663
Main Phone: (903) 534-1077
Main Fax: (903) 534-1370
Chancery Hours: Monday through Friday 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. (Closed daily from 12 p.m. to 1 p.m.)
 
Chancery Staff
Diocesan Boards & Commissions
Diocesan Offices & Outside Agencies
Deaneries
 

Chancery Offices

Name Position Extension E-mail
OFFICE OF THE BISHOP      
Most Rev. Joseph E. Strickland Bishop   Contact Bishop Strickland
Terri Bolton Executive Assistant 132 tbolton@dioceseoftyler.org 
Adela Hernandez Administrative Assistant 162 ajhernandez@dioceseoftyler.org 
       
OFFICE OF THE VICARS GENERAL      
Very Rev. John Gomez, JCL Vicar General   vggomez@dioceseoftyler.org 
Very Rev. Anthony Stoeppel, STD Vicar General   franthony@bishopgorman.net 
Adela Hernandez Administrative Assistant 162 ajhernandez@dioceseoftyler.org 
       
OFFICE OF THE CHANCELLOR      
Peyton Low Chancellor 154 peyton@dioceseoftyler.org 
Cindy Plummer Administrative Assistant & Archivist 133 cplummer@dioceseoftyler.org 
       
OFFICE OF THE DIOCESAN TRIBUNAL      
Very Rev. Lawrence Rasaian, JCD, PhD Judicial Vicar 173 jv@dioceseoftyler.org  
Rev. Gavin Vaverek, JCL Defender of the Bond 187 frgavin@stpatslufkin.org 
Very Rev. John Gomez, JCL Tribunal Judge 172  
Very Rev. Christopher Ruggles, JCL Tribunal Judge 172  
Cristian Casado Carmona Tribunal Judge 172  
Teresa Tiscareño Secretary 172 mtiscareno@dioceseoftyler.org 
Margaret Oppenheimer Administrator 140 tribunal@dioceseoftyler.org 
       
OFFICE OF OPERATIONS      
Ben Fisher Director of Operations 144 bfisher@dioceseoftyler.org
Chad Cleckler Operations Manager 150 ccleckler@dioceseoftyler.org 
Jeff Little Information Technology Manager  372 jlittle@dioceseoftyler.org 
Ariseli Lara Administrative Assistant 151 alara@dioceseoftyler.org 
Virginia Medrano Receptionist 130 vmedrano@dioceseoftyler.org 
       
OFFICE OF FINANCE      
Laura Williams Finance Officer 138 lwilliams@dioceseoftyler.org 
Cecelia Alligood Accounting Clerk (Parishes and Schools) 136 calligood@dioceseoftyler.org 
Jessica Donabo Administrative Assistant 196 jdonabo@dioceseoftyler.org 
TBD Accounting Clerk (AR and Appeal)    
Helen Fox Accounting Clerk (AP and Payroll) 148 payables@dioceseoftyler.org 
Karen Osteen Staff Accountant (Diocesan) 135 kosteen@dioceseoftyler.org 
Jennifer Osburn Staff Accountant (Parishes and Schools) 302 josburn@dioceseoftyler.org 
       
OFFICE OF DEVELOPMENT      
Peter Kane Director of Development 160 pkane@dioceseoftyler.org 
Elizabeth Carlson Associate Director 161 ecarlson@dioceseoftyler.org  
Niki Lorenz Data Entry 308 nlorenz@dioceseoftyler.org 
       
OFFICE OF CATHOLIC SCHOOLS      
Dr. Jim Klassen Superintendent 142 jklassen@dioceseoftyler.org 
Mary Elliott Administrative Assistant 142 melliott@dioceseoftyler.org 
       
OFFICE OF COMMUNICATIONS      
Ben Fisher Director of Communications 144 bfisher@dioceseoftyler.org
Killian Beeler Assistant Director of Communications 165 kbeeler@dioceseoftyler.org
       
CATHOLIC EAST TEXAS MAGAZINE      
See St. Philip Institute      
       
OFFICE OF ETHICS & INTEGRITY      
Rev. Gavin Vaverek, JCL Promoter of Justice & Victim Assistance Coord. 159 promoter@dioceseoftyler.org 
Maria Flores Administrative Assistant 188 m.flores@dioceseoftyler.org 
       
OFFICE OF SACRAMENTAL CATECHESIS      
Rev. Gavin Vaverek, JCL Christian Initiation (Non-Catholics)   ci@dioceseoftyler.org  
Sr. Angelica Orozco, EFMS Director of Sacramental Catechesis (Up to 12 years old)
Catechist Endorseement
145 sistera@dioceseoftyler.org 
  General Faith Formation Questions   ffl@dioceseoftyler.org 
Blanca Espinoza Administrative Assistant 169 bespinoza@dioceseoftyler.org 
       
OFFICE OF HUMAN RESOURCES      
Diana Jones Human Resources Manager 156 djones@dioceseoftyler.org 
       
OFFICE OF MARRIAGE & FAMILY LIFE      
See St. Philip Institute      
       
OFFICE OF PERMANENT DEACONS      
Dcn. Fred Arrambidez Director of Permanent Deacons 185 farrambidez@dioceseoftyler.org 
       
OFFICE OF VOCATIONS      
Rev. Justin Braun Director of Vocations 155 fatherjbraun@gmail.com 
       
OFFICE OF YOUTH EVANGELIZATION      
Vacant Director of Youth Evangelization    

Diocesan Boards & Commissions

BUILDING BOARD CHRISTIAN INITIATION COLLEGE OF CONSULTORS
Very Rev. Anthony Stoeppel, STD, VG
Very Rev. Dan Dower, STL, EV
Tom Deibel, Chair
Doug Cordell
Mother Susan Kennedy
Nita Meads
George Sanford
Laura Williams
Chad Cleckler
Peter Kane
Very Rev. John Gomez, JCL, VG
Linda Porter, Chair
Rev. Gavin N. Vaverek, JCL
Rev. Guillermo Gabriel-Maisonet
Dcn. Trevor Wells
Sr. Angelica Orozco, EFMS
Susan Wells
Mariela Gonzalez
Charles Goff
Denise Goff
Eric Dietel
Peggy Hammett
Very Rev. John Gomez, JCL, VG
Very Rev. Robert H. Lanik
Rev. Msgr. James E. Young
Rev. Msgr. Zach Kunnakkattuthara
Rev. Msgr. Xavier Pappu
Rev. Msgr. Ronald L. Diegel
Rev. Anthony McLaughlin, JCD
Rev. Gavin N. Vaverek, JCL
Rev. Luis E. Larrea
     
EVANGELIZATION FINANCE COUNCIL LITURGICAL COMMISSION
Very Rev. John Gomez, JCL, VG
Dianna Braquet
Linda Porter
Melba Ragland
Vincent Meinzer
Rev. Ariel Cortes
Sr. Angelica Orozco, EFMS
Dcn. Shaun Black
Dcn. John Ragland
Very Rev. John Gomez, JCL, VG
Very Rev. Anthony Stoeppel, STD, VG, Chair
Peyton Low, Chancellor
Yvette Brunette
Anne Saleh Duffey
Mark Hannan
Robert Johnson
Ted Green
Nancy Lamar
Robert Monaghan
Joe Peacock
Marc Salitore
Misty Wages
Laura Williams, Ex Officio
To be announced.
     
PRIESTS' PERSONNEL BOARD PERMANENT DEACON COUNCIL PRESBYTERAL COUNCIL
Very Rev. John Gomez, JCL, VG
Very Rev. Anthony Stoeppel, STD, VG
Very Rev. Daniel Dower, STL, VF
Very Rev. Robert H. Lanik, VF
Rev. Msgr. Xavier Pappu
Very Rev. Francis O'Dowd, VF
Very Rev. Gary Rottman, VF
Very Rev. Juan Carlos Sardinas, VF
Very Rev. Christopher Ruggles, JCL, VF
Rev. Jorge Dinguis
Very Rev. John Gomez, JCL, VG
Dcn. Ray Vann & Fe
Dcn. Joseph Bianca & Marilyn
Dcn. Alan Stehsel & Sharon
Dcn. Larry Bate & Laura
Dcn. Shaun Black & Carol
Dcn. Bill Necessary & Sue
Dcn. Jim Boland & Bonnie
Dcn. Jerry Besze & Mary
Dcn. Allen Prendergast & Jeannie
Dcn. Steve Curry & Anita
Dcn. Luis Garza
Dcn. Fred Arrambidez, Ex Officio
Rev. Victor Hernandez, Chair
Rev. Msgr. Zach Kunnakkattuthara
Rev. Jorge Dinguis
Rev. Ariel Cortes
Rev. Mark Dunne, Vice Chair
Rev. Nolan Lowry, STL
Rev. Lawrence Love
Rev. Guillermo Gabriel-Maisonet
Rev. Selvaraj Sinnappan
Very Rev. John Gomez, JCL, VG, Ex Officio
Very Rev. Anthony Stoeppel, STD, VG, Ex Officio
Very Rev. Lawrence Rasaian, JCD, JV, Ex Officio
     
PRIESTS' PENSION BOARD    
Very Rev. Daniel Dower, STL, VF
Very Rev. Garry Rottman, VF
Rev. Nelson Munoz
Rev. Lawrence Love
Rev. Steve Paradis, Chair
Rev. Christopher Ruggles, JCL


 

Diocesan Offices and Outside Agencies

CAMPUS MINISTRY (UT TYLER - ST. JOHN PAUL THE GREAT)      
Dan Onderko Development Director   donderko@dioceseoftyler.org 
Jodi Phillips Campus Minister   jphillips@dioceseoftyler.org 
       
CATHOLIC CHARITIES - DIOCESE OF TYLER
(Web Site)
     
Kathy Shieldes Harry Executive Director 903-258-9492 kharry@cctyler.com 
Pam Mings Administrative Assistant    
Alma Olivares Secretary    
       
DIOCESAN COUNCIL OF CATHOLIC WOMEN      
Sheila Cote President 903-372-7111 smcoter@gmail.com 
Rev. Gavin Vaverek, JCL Moderator   frgavin@stpatslufkin.org 
       
HOLY CHILDHOOD ASSOCIATION      
Very Rev. Anthony Stoeppel, STD, VG Diocesan Director    
       
PRISON MINISTRY      
Very Rev. Gary Rottman, VF Director 307 prisonministry@dioceseoftyler.org 
       
SANCTITY OF LIFE PROGRAM      
Rev. Gavin Vaverek, JCL Coordinator   frgavin@stpatslufkin.org 
Rev. Nolan Lowry, STL Assistant Coordinator    
Jan Wood, Gabriel Project Coordinator   janco808@email.com 
Shelia Cote, TDCCW President   smcoter@gmail.com 
       
SCOUTING      
Tim Russell Co-Chair   timrussell99@hotmail.com
Marshall Besch Co-Chair   mashalljbesch@gmail.com
Rev. Francis O'Dowd Chaplain    
SOCIETY FOR THE PROPOGATION OF THE FAITH      
Very Rev. Anthony Stoeppel, STD, VG  Diocesan Director    
       
SOCIETY OF ST. VINCENT DePAUL
(Web Site)
     
Tom Mittler   903-521-8166 cicsocialserv@suddenlinkmail.com 
       
ST. PHILIP INSTITUTE OF CATECHESIS AND EVANGELIZATION
(Web Site)
     
Dr. David Tamisiea Director   dtamisiea@stphilipinstitute.org 
Deanna Johnston Marriage and Family Life   djohnston@stphilipinstitute.org  
Ben Fisher Editor, Catholic East Texas Magazine   ben@catholiceasttexas.com 

Deaneries

NORTHWEST DEANERY WEST CENTRAL DEANERY
Very Rev. Juan Carlos Sardinas, VF
TBD, Assistant Dean
Very Rev. Robert H. Lanik, VF
Rev. Nolan Lowry, STL, Assistant Dean

PARISHES
Clarksville - St. Joseph
Emory - St. John the Evangelist
Mineola - St. Peter the Apostle
Mt. Vernon - Sacred Heart
Paris - Our Lady of Victory
Sulpher Springs - St. James
Wills Point - St. Luke
Winnsboro - St. Ann

MISSIONS
Grand Saline - St. Celestine

PARISHES
Tyler - Cathedral of Immaculate
Tyler - Our Lady of Guadalupe
Tyler - St. Joseph the Worker
Tyler - St. Peter Claver
Athens - St. Edwards
Canton - St. Theresa
Chandler - St. Boniface
Flint - St. Mary Magdalene
Frankston - St. Charles Borromeo
Gun Barrel City - St. Jude
Jacksonville - Our Lady of Sorrows
Lindale - Holy Family
Malakoff - Mary Queen of Heaven
Whitehouse - Prince of Peace

MISSIONS
Alto - Ven. Antonio Margil
New Summerfield - Our Lady of Guadalupe
Rusk - Sacred Heart

CHAPELS
Tyler - Chapel of Sts. Peter & Paul (Cathedral Parish)
Tyler - CHRISTUS Mother Francis Health System Chapel
Tyler - CHRISTUS Louis & Peaches Owen Heart Hospital Chapel

SCHOOLS
Tyler - St. Gregory Cathedral School
Tyler - Bishop Gorman

AGENCIES AND INSTITUTIONS
Tyler - Catholic Charities Diocese of Tyler
Tyler - St. Philip Institute for Catechesis and Evangelization
Tyler - Society of St. Vincent de Paul, Immaculate Conception Conference
Tyler - Wellspring Spirituality Center
Tyler - Casa Betania

   
NORTHEAST DEANERY SOUTHWEST DEANERY
Very Rev. Francis O'Dowd, VF
Rev. George Elliott, Assistant Dean
Very Rev. Gary Rottman, VF
Rev. Matthew Stehling, Assistant Dean

PARISHES
Atlanta - St. Catherine
Daingerfield - Our Lady of Fatima
Mt. Pleasant - St. Micheal
New Boston - St. Mary of Cenacle
Pittsburg - Holy Cross
Texarkana - Sacred Heart

CHAPELS
Texarkana - CHRISTUS St. Michael Hospital

PARISHES
Buffalo - Blessed Kateri Tekakwitha
Centerville - St. Leo the Great
Crockett - St. Francis of the Tejas
Fairfield - St. Bernard of Clairvaux
Madisonville - St.Elizabeth Ann Seton
Palestine - Sacred Heart
Trinity - Most Holy Trinity

MISSIONS
Hilltop Lakes - St. Tomas More
Teague - St. Mary

   
EAST CENTRAL DEANERY SOUTHEAST DEANERY
Very Rev. Dan Dower, STL, VF
TBD, Assistant Dean
Very Rev. Christopher Ruggles, JCL, VF
TBD, Assistant Dean

PARISHES
Carthage - St. William of Vercelli
Gilmer - St. Francis of Assisi
Gladewater - St. Theresa of the Infant Jesus
Henderson - St. Jude
Holly Lake - Holy Spirit
Jefferson - Immaculate Conception
Kilgore - Christ the King
Longview - St. Anthony
Longview - St. Mary
Longview - St. Matthew
Marshall - St. Joseph

MISSIONS
Hallsville - Our Lady of Grace
Overton - Our Lady, Queen of Angels
Tatum - San Pedro the Fisherman
Waskom - St. Lawrence of Brindisi

SCHOOLS
Longview - St. Mary

PARISHES
Center - St. Therese
Diboll - Our Lady of Guadalupe
Hemphill - St. Pius I
Lufkin - St. Patrick
Lufkin - St. Andrew the Apostle
Nacogdoches - Sacred Heart

MISSIONS
Chireno - Our Lady of Lourdes
Moral - Immaculate Conception
Nacogdoches - Our Lady of Guadalupe
San Augustine - St. Augustine
Timpson - Epiphany

CHAPELS
Nacogdoches - St. Mary Chapel

SCHOOLS
Nacogdoches - St. Patrick